I Give Up.

I think there is more use in smashing pots together than trying to communicate with the dedicated religious.

For all the readers who actually heard what I said, thank you for reading. I don’t believe I will be posting anymore. Writing on topics of religion is just too discouraging.

I had hoped that my writing could aid a more unified outlook between the religious and non-religious on the basis of shared humanity, but all I did was instigate argument and create more misunderstanding.

[Further note: Future posts may appear but will be on topics of humanism and/or philosophy rather than religion, and will not be specifically oriented toward the religious. Religious folk who are interested in reading are welcome to, however, comments promoting/defending religion or instigating religious argument/debate will likely not be published.]

6 thoughts on “I Give Up.

  1. Personally, I don’t think you should give up writing here, I have enjoyed reading what you have to say and always look forward to your posts.

  2. Then they win! We are all entitled to our beliefs and you have yours. I just recently started following your blog and I think what you have to say is very encouraging for people like me. It’s open, thought provoking, and ideal for our times. I can only imagine the negative comments you’ve gotten from some, and I imagine they are the ones who represent the religious right, as opposed to left.
    If they are afraid to engage in a constructive manner and only put you down until you stop blogging, then they win! And we loose another person perspective. Don’t stop, but if you must, then go out on top, don’t let them trample you into silence.

  3. I’m glad to have read what you did post. (: And I totally understand wanting to stop.

    If you pick it back up in a few months/years, awesome, I hope to keep reading. If not, still awesome. As long as you’re doing it for the right reasons, and I think that personal sanity is a great reason.

  4. More often than not, Christians who stumble upon my blog are astounded that deconversion exists, so they ask me thoughtfully how that’s even possible. I’m sorry you’ve experienced fruitless contention. I know that my greatest hope coming out of Christianity was to work toward a sort of metaphysical equality, if you will. This seems highly unlikely, at least in our day, and the constant reminder of that has struck a crushing blow. There was a time I wanted religious people to see how wrong they are, but that was short-lived. Some people really do need a structure of that nature in order to thrive. I simply wish there was a way for them to maintain that structure without their beliefs and “biblical convictions” telling them they must work toward pulling everyone else in. Once I realized trying to show the religious their folly was actually me stooping to that level, I stopped. It’s still frustrating that open dialogue on the matter seems almost impossible, though.

Leave a Reply

